This year, 2020, the festival will be bestowing awards to films for the first time. This is to

  • further strengthen Arab filmmaking,
  • ensure attractive film premieres of Arab films in German-speaking Switzerland and to facilitate their access to distribution in Switzerland

The jury will select two award winners from among the 15 new feature-length films: Best Director and Best Film

The Awards Ceremony will take place at Filmpodium on Sunday, 29th November at 5.30 p.m.

Members of the Jury

Yasmine Chouikh was born in Algiers in 1982, the daughter of two filmmakers. Her first feature Until the End of Time represented Algeria at the Oscars.

Rasha Salti was born in Toronto in 1969 and grew up in Beirut. She is a curator for art and film and has worked as a programmer at various film festivals.

Catherine Silberschmidt, born in Richterswil (CH) in 1950, has been a freelance film journalist since 1983, with a special focus on women’s films and African cinema.